Book 01: Matilda

It occurred to me that I should have done this a month ago, but in my blind ambition to start my New Years Resolution early, it was lost on me.

So I’m importing and merging my book blog into this one. Hope you’ll enjoy this new addition!

Let’s open this baby up with a stroll down memory lane, shall we?

Photo courtesy of School Library Journal

Title: Matilda

Author: Roald Dahl

Genre: children’s fiction

Summary: Matilda is not an ordinary child. For one, she was born into a family of unbelievably low IQ and even lower love for her. For another, she has abilities beyond anyone’s wildest imaginations. By age 5 she had the mind of a genius mathematician, read all the children’s books in the library and a whole lot more in the adult’s section, and had learned to prank her self-centred parents with an assortment of creative methods. When her family finally got around to registering her in primary school, she was ecstatic. What could be more wonderful than school, where she could learn, and learn and learn all day long! But she never thought it could be a place to harbour a monster, and yet, there it was, Ms. Trunchbull, the scary, menacing Principal. However, her classmates loved her and there’s always Matilda’s favourite teacher to turn to, Ms. Honey. This story is filled with mischief, magic, and adventure.

Eaten Thru On: January 5, 2014

Thoughts:

What a sweet, heart-warming story to start off the year!

I did not spend my childhood immersed in Western children’s literature, so I didn’t go through stories like those of Roald Dahl or Dr. Seuss. But no matter, it’s never too late to start catching up!

I loved Matilda. From the first mention of her I wanted her to be my child. Of course, her absolute love for books caught me like Winnie the Pooh to honey. Watching her escape the almost-tragic family she was born into through the written word made me feel triumphant in knowing that she was a hundred times better than her parents will ever be. Even though it breaks my heart that her family and the people around her were so ignorant of her amazing abilities, her modesty, and her childlike wonder, and treated her like a criminal, there was always Ms. Honey to bring me hope. She protected Matilda, and kept her curious, brave and happy. I very much enjoyed following Matilda on her little pranking adventures. It brought much-needed smiles to my face, while I’m in the deep trenches of final exams and papers and deadlines, to see those well-deserved pranks delivered smoothly and without hiccup. What sense of justice I felt!

The colourful and creative language Roald Dohl is not shy about putting into a children’s book, was refreshing and very amusing to happen upon as an adult. I think I will adopt quite a few of them appropriate terms to refer to some awful people I’ve encountered and have to deal with in my life at the moment. There can never be enough words to swear with!

Take an hour or two out of your busy day, and go read it. Re-read if you were lucky enough to grow up with such delightful stories.

Final Verdict: 4/5

Best Enjoyed: With your parents, or read it to your child if you have one. And if you are far away from family like I am, just curl up with a friend, or a pillow, or an old favourite teddy.

Next Target: Allegiant By Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

