Book 02: Allegiant

Photo courtesy of the Wikipedia

Title: Allegiant

Author: Veronica Roth

Genre: YA, Dystopian

Summary: Courtesy of Goodreads

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Eaten Thru On: January 10, 2014 at 2:23pm

Thoughts:

The grand reveal!

Everything you wanted to know about the world of the factions are uncovered. What was outside of the world Tris’ was born into, why were the factions created, what was the world like leading up to this.

So many answers!

It was quite a lot to take in. I felt this last book had almost too much packed into it. But I guess it’s only fair for the final book of the trilogy.

There were major plot twists along the line that made me feel hopeless. I kept asking myself, how will Roth untangle all of these knots?! And of course, the inevitable thought that she won’t be able to.

She ended up doing a sufficiently satisfactory job. But not as well and seamless as I imagined it to be. Nonetheless, this book wasn’t so much about the plot as it was the characters and their struggles. I liked the flip-flop between Tris and Tobias’ point-of-views. It gave me a more comprehensive look into Tobias’ character. The new ones that Roth dropped into the book, most of whom were unmemorable. A few, like Matthew, stuck out. But the long-runnning and returning characters still nabbed my attention and interest.

Alright, time for the spoilers.

And it’s the worst kind, I will spoil the ending for you. I know, I know. What’s the point of a review if you spoil everything. But give me a break! I just–it just–I just have to talk about the ending ok! Read it and you’ll understand my inability to contain myself. If you are here to find out if it’s worth the read, I don’t even need to give you a review. It’s a definite, YES! Stop mindlessly surfing the Internet, buy the trilogy, and get reading already!

I am speechless.

That finale shocked me to my core. I never knew it would come. I guess all the books I’ve ever read, especially of these YA, dystopian genres, none of them ever ended so tragically for the main character. Even in the aftermath of the tragedy, I still kept hoping and hoping it wasn’t true, that like Amar, she would rise again. I even flipped through the Acknowledges, knowing that an Epilogue is the end of all endings to a book. I wanted to believe she didn’t just leave us like that.

So yes I cried. Yes I hated it.

But I felt a sense of admiration for Veronica Roth. Having spent three books with these characters, it must have been hard for her to write that, knowing how much people love happy endings, and more importantly, knowing how difficult it would be for her to do it. The last words of the book did end up bringing a smile to my face, despite it all. Even in death, Tris’ strength, her courage and her legacy united people and brought peace and bravery to those around her. I liked that a lot. The most important thing in life is not live forever, but to leave behind something that will.

This book was by the far best of three for me, not only because of what I just mentioned, but also because Veronica created people that took different paths. Tris. Tobias. Peter. Besides Tris, I feel like Peter’s choice was a sobering one to read. Many people do give up. Not everyone is as tough and invincible as the main characters usually are, and that’s OK. It’s relatable, understandable, recognizable in ourselves. That’s an important message to put through.

Of course, Tris’ choice to not be like Caleb and deliver him to his death. In those final moments, seeing him as her brother again, and remembering all the good that’s still inside him. As much as it hurt to watch her choose, her decision made her that much more admirable, selfless (Born a Stiff, always a Stiff), and immortal. Family, you can live with them and you can’t live without them.

And Uriah. Why? WHY? WHY?!?!

The sudden onset of the closeness between him and Christina. Not so fond of it. But then again, I understand and have witnessed the rapid speed at which tragedy and loss can unite people. Still, it doesn’t mean I like it.

One more thing: Tobias. How can you be so stupid?! OK, done and over it. But I absolutely loved the fact Roth didn’t let him drink that memory serum. It would have been the end of my respect for this trilogy. Cowardice never suited him and never will. I have Christina to thank for that.

As for the plot, the schism between the genetically-pure and the genetically-damaged, the fringes, the experimenting, the ingrained thinking of those in the Compound, they all find great echoes throughout our own human history. That was a component I did find interesting in this big unveiling. If only it was as easy as unleashing a memory serum to reset everything.

How will I watch the movie now, knowing what I know?!

Goddamn book spoilers.

Final Verdict: 4/5 (The best book out of the 3!)

Best Enjoyed: Just finish it! Do all three in one sitting if you can!

Next Target: I don’t know. I need sometime to process all of this. I guess you’ll find out when my next review comes out.

Leave a Reply

