Special: This Mother’s Day

She endured nine months of swollen ankles and feet, of morning sickness, of uncontrollable hormones and cravings, to finally bring a new life, your life, into this world.

Then, for the next two decades, she slaves away every day, without fail, to raise you up. She gets up before dawn and doesn’t rest until well into the night after she has tugged you in and reassured you that she will protect you from the monsters under your bed. She leaves your bedroom door slightly ajar because she knows you are afraid of the dark and can’t sleep unless you are lulled by the soft murmurs of late-night conversations between her and your dad.

She patiently sits by you as you frustratingly get through schoolwork. Someday, you might discover she doesn’t know everything, that she isn’t omnipotent. But it doesn’t matter because she stands by you no matter what. She does to the best of her abilities and beyond, to lessen your burden. And if she can’t, she cooks you your favourites to bring comfort.

She fights harder than you’ve ever fought for opportunities to create the best future for you, even if that means sacrificing her own comforts, well-being and happiness. Even if it means giving up her childhood dreams and her own opportunities. Even if it means she has to put up with petty humiliations and embarrassments. She will never fail to do what she thinks is best for you.

Her heart breaks into smaller pieces than yours when she watches you go through the wrath of this world. When that first love shatters your whole being, she will be there to pick up the pieces and put them back together with the upmost care and attention. The pain of seeing you shake under heartbreak will reflect tenfold onto her, crushing her body. But she will stay strong for you. She won’t tend to her own wounds until yours have been mended and you are whole again. But when you are not around, when you are unaware, that’s when she cries. She cries for her baby, whom she swore to protect since before she was born. She cries for all the turmoil that will inevitably descend upon her child. She cries because she is only human, and there is little she could do.

For all this, there is no monetary or physical reward. To her, you are the reward. Your first breath, your first word, your first step, your first day of school, your first dance, your first graduation, your first paycheck, your first house, your smiles, your laughter, your dreams, your loves, these are what she frames and puts on the wall. These are her pride and joy. These are what sustains her.

So this Mother’s Day, I would like to acknowledge and send a deep, heartfelt appreciation for everything my mother has ever done for me. I saw you go through hell for me. I saw you sacrifice for me. I saw you cry for me. I saw you give up time for me. I see what you do for me, every minute of every day. I feel your unconditional love and support for me. I can practically touch it.

If you have ever doubted yourself, let me reassure you once and for all, that you are the best mother I’ve ever known and ever will know. You have shown me what it is to be kind, to be loved, to be happy. You have taught me how to laugh, how to live and how to love. There is no one and nothing I love more in this world than you.

I am sorry for all the times I’ve been impatient toward you. I am sorry for all the times I’ve disrespected you. I am sorry for all the times I’ve made you think that I hated you. I am sorry for all times I’ve brought you pain. I am sorry for the all times I’ve broken your heart. You deserve none of it. And yet you never stopped loving me.

Thank you mom.

I love you.

Always.

84

Leave a Reply

