38. Summertime Sadness

After a two-month hiatus, I have finally regained free time, a flood of it. This last extended period of absence has been jam-packed by a graduating thesis, its defence, last-minute travels, packing, bureaucratic lines, family, heartbreaking dinners and goodbye drinks. My sincerest apologies for being so tied up with life to blog about it. But I’m back!

It has been a whirlwind of activities and time well wasted. I have acquired a great deal of experiences, not least of which is how to properly write and complete a thesis which should help me survive London. On personal matters, I have had to say goodbye to a few wonderful people I’ve come to cherish in my life. As is with my last departure from Japan only a year ago, this one was no less filled with tears. And even though I will be seeing a majority of my fellow classmates again this coming September in London, it does nothing to soften the blow of farewells.I’ve never been good with goodbyes, so instead, I’ll commemorate.

Here’s to all the incredible people I’ve encountered in Beijing, and above all, to all the dearest (and enduring I hope) friendships I’ve been able to cultivate there. I’ll remember our lunches together and our coffees afterwards in the garden, our miserable study sessions at the Bridge and the library, our panic attacks (mostly mine and your calm, assuring presence) during those final days of thesis, our days in the sun and the smog-less air, our travels together, and our nights watching movies and munching on fried chicken, or dancing away until sunrise. And if we never meet again, if our contact fades with time, I don’t regret one single second we spent together, physically or over technology. You have made this year in China comically bearable and unforgettable. I wish you nothing but happiness in your future. I sincerely hope we will meet again someday.

I’ll always be happy to hear from you.

So keep me posted.

Leave a Reply

