Book 18-19: Harry Potter.

Courtesy of Goodreads

Final Verdict: 5/5 horcruxes

Courtesy of Goodreads

Final Verdict: 5/5 finales

Thoughts:

With every word and every turn of a page, I was closer and closer toward the end. I was hurtling at the finale with no means or desire to slow down.

Nonetheless, I reluctantly pulled myself out of the pages and close it at the end of almost every chapter. I wanted to make it last as long as possible. I wanted to portion this magic so it can endure. I never wanted it to end.

The thing about books, good books, is that you never do. The ending comes all too rapidly. It is not unlike the feeling of playing your absolutely favourite video game for days on end, and then suddenly, just when you’ve completely convinced your mind of being in another fantastical, exciting world, just when you are comfortable in the shoes of whomever you are in this world, your mother unplugs the screen.

You are violently, sickeningly, heartbreakingly pulled out.

At least with that scenario, you can always restart and re-enter. The euphoria you experienced can be relit through a few buttons and electricity.

The worst part of it would be when the game ends.

Sure, you can revisit, replay from the beginning, but it’s never the same as the first time.

With a brilliant story, one that have stayed with you for as long as some series have lasted, its finale can be extremely turbulent and confounding.

For this reason, I have tried to made the last few chapters of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows endure for as painfully long as possible. I am certain that most of you know what I mean, seeing as the majority of the world have read the series and wept when it ended. It is excruciating to unplug from that world, and it is even more crushing to have to do it voluntarily because you know that you’d rather feel that pain than the anguish you’d have to endure when that last page closes.

For me, there are no movies to wait for. The franchise is complete. So when I am done with the books, it’ll be like the train departing with the new generation of Hogwarts students. There may be fanfiction to turn to. There may be Hogwarts studios and wonderlands to visit, but the adventure that carried so many of you through your childhood and beyond have formally come to a close.

I can’t even begin to imagine what that felt like.

I didn’t grow up with the Potter series. I was first introduced to its magic through the silver screen. But no matter when you start the adventure, those books contain enough magic to boggle the minds of all ages.

And I have been enchanted for the last two weeks.

Of course, I’m using Harry Potter as an example of the power of literature. It is after all, one of the most well-known series and has been credited with a surge in reading habits amongst children, teens, and adults.

I hope its magic lasts.

In the periods of my self-imposed isolation from the final book, I have been gathering. I have been building floodgates with books I want to read next. I was cushioning against the fallout. I was preparing myself for the immense sense of lost that will inevitable swarm my body and mind when those final words are read and gone.

I was slightly comforted in the knowledge that in a few years time, I would be able to restart this adventure and watch it work its magic on my future children.

Nonetheless, I was deeply dreading those final words and I was right in my dread.

I appeared less than human a few nights ago when I finished it. My eyes were decorated in rings of red, each angrier than the last. My whole face was rather bloated and tear-stained. I was curled into a tight fetus-position under the sheets, buried beneath the pillows and just sobbing my heart out.

It was not a pleasant prospect.

I was glad it was nearly 2am and my parents weren’t there to witness this transformation.

And now the healing begins. But first, I have to re-watch the movies.

Leave a Reply

