48. Wannabe Londonist

1524574_10152278787621891_6346734605555468549_n

Driving on the right side of the car and the right side of the road. The queue, the loo, a quid or two. Double deckers. British accents. Talfargar Square. Red, all over the place.

Toto, I’ve a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore!

London town has greatly impressed me so far. Except for the fact that you cannot just get on the bus with your backward, old-notion coins and paper money, the grey dreary days of rain, and being nearly run over by cars because you were looking in the wrong direction and because pedestrians are not almighty here, this city has definitely got a hold on me.

This has been the fastest I have ever adjusted to a foreign place. Mostly due to the fact that I really had no alone time to dwell on homesickness. I dived right into the busy lifestyle this city loves and demands. Culture shock came and went in the blink of an eye. I did come from a Commonwealth country after all, there really weren’t much grand differences to shock my system. My room was rather dingy when I first arrived, but post-IKEA, it is now very liveable.

My fantastic flatmates put the final nail in the coffin that housed all those horrible feelings of homesickness and loneliness. There are seven of them, and one free pizza night bounded all of us together in a common cleaning schedule and condiment-sharing scheme. If nothing else, at least I won’t have to eat dinner by my lonesome again. As the Italians would say, it’s unhealthy to eat alone. And of all the coincidences one of my flatmates is even a Vancouver native!

Plus, this city is littered with museums, walkways, the Thames, Harry Potter sites, gorgeous tall British gentlemen, and tea. What more does a girl need? There really is no time or space to be dwelling in homesickness.

I have been here for just over a week now, and every day I come home drenched in that good kind of exhaustion. I have some warm lavender tea, chat with some of my flatmates, and I fall right off to sleep the second my head hits the pillows. Every morning starts early, with a full breakfast, lunch preparations and then I take the red double-deckers to school for the day.

What a most fantastic start to my final year as a Masters.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

